Awarded Composer

Launceston Grammar is delighted to announce the 2020 Peter Sculthorpe Alumnus Award recipient is Australian classical composer, Don Kay AM.

Don Kay’s sterling career as an award-winning composer includes the composition of over 60 works publicly performed in Australia, the United Kingdom, United States of America, Switzerland and Italy from a symphony, to operas, orchestral and choral works to chamber and solo works.

Named after eminent Australian composer and Old Launcestonian Peter Sculthorpe, the award was created in 2015 to honour a member of the Launceston Grammar School community who has made a significant achievement within their field of endeavour. The award is also intended to inspire the next generation, providing opportunities for current students to meet, interact and learn from the award recipient.

Donald Kay is the sixth recipient of the award with Professor Elizabeth Blackburn PhD, DSc, MSc the fifth recipient, the Hon Warwick Smith AO LLB the fourth recipient, and former Australian diplomat Stephen FitzGerald, leading scientist Professor Derek Denton, and journalist Indira Naidoo, also awarded.